Dr. Megan Douglas - co-chair - School Committee

Erika Sevetson - co-chair - School Committee

Members: Denise Alves, Jeanna Andrews, Michael Blundin, Nichole Collins, Paula Dillon, Corey Downey, Alexandra Fiore, Denise Flores, Christina Glass, Ryan Loshaw, Abigail Markham, Michael Messore, Amy Numm, Kimberley Orr, Robert Rapoza, Jennifer Reynolds, Nancy Roberts, Joanne Royley, Patricia Tolento, Karin Wetherill, and Addison White

Meeting Agendas & Materials

Meeting Minutes


Updates to the School Committee

Health and Wellness NORMS:

  • Focus on opportunities, not obstacles

  • Engage in positive communication: Respectful listening and allowing for shared airtime

  • Respect others’ opinions

  • Respect time: Be productive, stay on task & topic providing timely agenda, minutes & information

  • Adhere to membership consensus building as the decision-making process

  • Act as a representative liaison

Health & Wellness Meeting Dates


link in agenda

*Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Governor has signed an Executive Order allowing teleconference meetings under the Open Meetings Act (OMA). The Town of Barrington has canceled all face to face meetings until further notice. All residents desiring to participate in the meeting may join by using the information below. You are asked to mute your phone/device.

*Agenda will be published on the Attorney General Website and linked on this page 48 hours in advance of each meeting in accordance with RI Open Meetings Laws

Barrington School Administration Building is accessible to the handicapped. Individuals requiring any accommodations for disabilities must notify Barrington Public Schools at 401-245-5000 (TTD 401-247-3750) not less than 48 hours in advance.

Meeting Dates and Potential Topics

October 7, 2020

November 4, 2020 -- Follow up Tobacco Use/Vaping Policy, Discuss other policies for review and

plans for the Adolescent Sexual Health Survey, Review of the Johns Hopkins COVID-19 Curriculum,

F/u regarding masking signage, Introduction of student members

December 2, 2020 -- Review results of ASHS

February 3, 2021 -- Review HW policy, create mid-year report to SC.

March 3, 2021 -- PE Curriculum Review, update on policies (Communicable Disease, Smoking)

April 7, 2021 -- Health & Wellness Policy Review, update on policies (Alcohol breathalyzer/sensor, Substance Abuse)

May 5, 2021 -- Health & Wellness Policy f/u discussion, Adolescent Sexual Health Survey plan

June 2, 2021 -- Approve any changes to the Health & Wellness Policy, Discuss potential charges for 2021-2022 and year-end report to the School Committee, Year-end feedback

Zoom Recordings

Health & Wellness Committee Meeting June 2, 2020